About Maricopa County

Maricopa County is one of the largest, most scenic and fastest-growing counties in the country. With nearly 4 million residents, Maricopa County is the fourth most populous county in the nation, and is larger than 24 states. With the state capital and more than 60 percent of the state’s population, the metropolitan area is Arizona’s political and economic center.

Maricopa County includes the cities of Phoenix, Mesa, Glendale, Scottsdale, Tempe, Chandler, Peoria and Gilbert, five Indian reservations and four of the nation’s fastest-growing communities ‑ Buckeye, Surprise, Goodyear and Avondale. Its economic base has steadily diversified from its roots in Arizona’s five C’s (copper, cattle, citrus, climate and cotton). Today, it is home to a growing high-tech industry, medical research, manufacturing, agriculture and 15 institutions of higher learning, including Arizona State University, the Thunderbird School of Global Management and the Maricopa Community Colleges, which have approximately 270,000 students currently enrolled.